Thoughts from Spaces.

Okay, I have no idea what that title means.

Tonight, on our way home from dinner, Grandpa mentioned that when he graduated high school, he knew everyone from his high school and a neighboring school as well.  He graduated, enlisted in what we now call the Air Force, and became a fighter pilot in World War II.  He came back home, and found that most of his friends were gone, either by leaving or dying.  He went off to college, made new friends, graduated.  He went to the Korean War.  He came home, and most of his friends from college were gone as well.

I know it’s a sad story, but it made me glad that we don’t live in those times.  Yes, we do have a conflict going on in the Middle East, but it isn’t as drastic as the World Wars were.  I can count on the fact that the majority of my high school classmates are still alive and kicking.  All of the friends I’ve made in college are all still alive.

Also, the internet.  I know I don’t say this very often, but when I feel lonely, like there’s no one physically around, I can always count on friends being on Skype, Twitter, Tumblr, Facebook, etc.  I can connect with humans and talk to them on a daily basis, if not hourly.  It’s comforting knowing that people are right there, at my fingertips.  These relationships/friendships are some of the most open and honest relationships I’ve had.

And for that, I am truly grateful.

Leave a Reply

