Jim Henson.

So, I was strolling through the internet– as you do– when I kept seeing people post links for NPR’s streaming of The Green Album.  It’s basically a compilation of covers by OK Go, Hayley Williams, Weezer, and more of songs originally sung by Muppets.

You’re assisting the audience to understand; you’re giving them a bridge or an access. And if you don’t give them that, if you keep it more abstract, it’s almost more pure. It’s a cooler thing.

With The Muppets movie coming out in November, it has me remembering how Jim Henson’s Muppets have affected my life.  I mean, I grew up on a few Fraggle Rock episodes recorded on a VHS tape, Sesame Street taught me the alphabet and many social lessons, and my family watched the Muppet movies religiously.

I know a lot of people who talk about Harry Potter characters as if they are their real friends, the characters they grew up with.  Well, I grew up with Big Bird, Bert and Ernie, Oscar the Grouch, The Count, Maria and Gordon.  I freaking remember Maria’s baby shower!  I grew up with Miss Piggie, Gonzo, Kermit, Beaker and Dr Honeydew, AND OH GOSH I can’t forget: Statler and Waldorf!  Sweetums.  Oh goodness, Sweetums.

Gah.  Jim Henson created so many amazing and lovable characters.  His optimism and faith in mankind shone through these characters, and although he’s said that Kermit isn’t his alter-ego, Kermit definitely displays those same morals.

When I was young, my ambition was to be one of the people who made a difference in this world. My hope still is to leave the world a little bit better for my having been here. It’s a wonderful life and I love it.

Yeah, so, moral of the story: Jim Henson was one awesome dude.  He taught me that friends are quite important and treating them with respect.  I mean, Follow That Bird is about Big Bird trying to fit in, to find out that he fit in with his friends more than he fit in with the Dodo family.

THE END.

Leave a Reply

